Marriage & Civil Union
License Information 


Please call (908) 735-8800 x210 for Appointment

What to bring with you when you apply:

  • Photo ID (driver’s license, passport or state ID)
  • Application fee of $28 (personal check or exact change)
  • Proof of Residency (driver's license, recent bank or utility statement)
  • A Witness (18 years or older) who knows both the male and female applicants.
  • Your social security number is required by law and will be kept confidential.
  • The application must be signed in the presence of the Registrar.
  • There is a 72-hour waiting period between application and license issue.
  • Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

Applying for a Marriage/Civil Union License in New Jersey

Entering into a Marriage, Civil Union or Domestic Partnership in New Jersey

Marriage/Civil Union License Application 

Ordering a copy of a Vital Record (Birth, Death, Marriage):



Township Administrator
William Close
Phone: (908) 735-8800 x202
Acting Township Clerk
Lindsay Heller
Phone: (908) 735-8800 x210
1225 Route 31 South
Lebanon, NJ 08833
8:30 am to 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday